Getting My Autumn On

This weekend I got to spend some time with my handsome new husband. We visited my absolute favorite place to go when Fall hits – Gull Meadow Farms. Let’s just say that we overdosed on all things Autumn.

I do not know about you, but I could never possibly chose just one flavor of donut. I want one three of each please and thank you.

What makes my man happy? It’s pretty simple – cider and donuts.

What makes me cheesy? Posing in cornstalks.

 We really did have lots of fun. We picked our own apples and went a wee bit crazy. And by crazy, I mean that we picked enough apples to feed an army and now I am feeling the pressure to bake things.

Seriously, what am I going to do with all these apples?! Here is a picture of just some of them, I also have another bowl full!

Last night I busted out the crock pot and made apple crisp. I followed this very easy recipe, mainly because it is so simple a third grader could do it and I had everything on hand. It turned out very good and I did not even burn it! Then again it is hard to burn food in a crock pot….but a certain favorite blogger of mine did prove that it is possible! (PS. She just signed up for her first 5K so send her some running love!)

Do you have any good recipes that involve apples? If so, please share!

**Please note that I can only handle around 5 ingredients per recipe and only around 4 steps. When a recipe gets to complicated I have a panic attack, cry, and then drive to the nearest Culver’s and eat away my sorrows.

6 thoughts on “Getting My Autumn On

  1. My fave thing to do with apples is cut them up into small pieces, usually I use those apple cutters and then cut the slices even smaller from there. Then I put them all in a pan, sprinkle a little sugar (or Splenda) and cinnamon on top, pour Black Cherry soda on them (I use diet) and bake them at 350 for 20-30 minutes or so. It’s so good to eat on it’s own (it tastes like apple crisp without the crisp) but even more awesome on top of ice cream. If you use Splenda and diet soda, you just have the calories of the apples. Yum!

  2. Oh, heavens. I could eat donuts forever. In the fall, cinnamon and apple donuts are wonderful, but for the rest of the year sprinkles are a world of glory.

    So glad you had a lovely weekend!

Leave a Reply

